Founded in 1929 in London, Faber is one of the world's great publishing houses. Our list of authors includes thirteen Nobel Laureates and six Booker Prize-winners. We are proud to publish the foremost voices in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and drama, with writers including T. S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Harold Pinter, Sylvia Plath, William Golding, Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney and Kazuo Ishiguro.

We realise that not everyone will be able to visit a bookshop at the present time. With the cancellation of author events and tours, please do consider the following options: Faber Shop, Waterstones, Foyles, Blackwells, Hive and Amazon. Thank you to all our readers for your continued support.

featured

featured

New & Recommended

Paperback Picks

  • Your House Will Pay

    Your House Will Pay

    Steph Cha
    9780571348213
    Paperback
    320
    Two families. One desperate to remember, the other to forget.Will the truth burn them both?'A wonderful, thoughtful and exciting debut that will stay with you.' Nikesh Shukla'A smart, sensitive page-turner.' Daily TelegraphGrace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn't normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister's estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison.But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever.Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty's The Sellout.What readers are saying:'Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful... a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.''A must-read.''This novel is wonderful... it will stick with you.''Sensitive and astute, it's a book we need right now, and it's a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.''A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I've ever read.'
  • Meaty

    Meaty

    Samantha Irby
    9780571349838
    Paperback
    272
    ONE OF STYLIST'S BEST NEW BOOKS FOR 2020‘This is an unforgettable book.' Roxane Gay Meditations on the terror of love; tips for getting your disgusting meat carcass ready for some new, hot sex; a frank self-evaluation upon the occasion of one’s 30th birthday; and, finally, the answer to the question on everyone’s minds: Would dying alone really be so terrible? Blogger and comedian Samantha Irby covers it all with wit and honesty – and serves it with a side of Instagram frittata.
  • Sex and Lies

    Sex and Lies

    Leïla Slimani
    Last 9 in stock
    9780571355037
    Paperback
    176
    The first work of non-fiction in English from the prize-winning and internationally bestselling author of Lullaby and AdèleIn these essays, Leila Slimani gives voice to young Moroccan women who are grappling with a conservative Arab culture that at once condemns and commodifies sex. In a country where the law punishes and outlaws all forms of sex outside marriage, as well as homosexuality and prostitution, women have only two options for their sexual identities: virgin or wife. Sex and Lies is an essential confrontation with Morocco's intimate demons and a vibrant appeal for the universal freedom to be, to love and to desire.
  • Before She Knew Him

    Before She Knew Him

    Peter Swanson
    9780571340675
    Paperback
    400
    A Sunday Times and Observer Thriller of the Month‘Deliciously good . . . Swanson’s best thriller yet.’ Observer ‘Gripping, twisty . . . I could not put it down.’ Alafair BurkeWhen Hen and Lloyd move into their new house, they’re relieved to meet another childless couple in their neighbourhood, Matthew and Mira.But when they’re invited over for dinner, Hen thinks she sees something suspicious in Matthew’s study. Could this mild-mannered schoolteacher really be hiding a dark secret, one that only Hen might know about? And even if she’s right, who would believe her?

Award-winning books

  • Flèche

    Flèche

    Mary Jean Chan
    9780571348046
    Paperback
    88
    POETRY BOOK SOCIETY RECOMMENDATIONFlèche (the French word for ‘arrow’) is an offensive technique commonly used in fencing, a sport of Mary Jean Chan’s young adult years, when she competed locally and internationally for her home city, Hong Kong. This cross-linguistic pun presents the queer, non-white body as both vulnerable (‘flesh’) and weaponised (‘flèche’), and evokes the difficulties of reconciling one’s need for safety alongside the desire to shed one’s protective armour in order to fully embrace the world.Central to the collection is the figure of the poet’s mother, whose fragmented memories of political turmoil in twentieth-century China are sensitively threaded through the book in an eight-part poetic sequence, combined with recollections from Chan’s childhood. As complex themes of multilingualism, queerness, psychoanalysis and cultural history emerge, so too does a richly imagined personal, maternal and national biography. The result is a series of poems that feel urgent and true, dazzling and devastating by turns.
  • Little Faith

    Little Faith

    Nickolas Butler
    9780571351114
    Paperback
    336
    ‘This is storytelling at its finest.’ USA Today‘Heart-stoppingly good.’ Willy Vlautin‘Subtle and heartfelt . . . Wonderful.’ Big Issue‘A heart-wrenching look at family and the American mid-west.’ StylistLyle and his wife, Peg, are living a mostly contented life in rural Wisconsin. Their daughter, Shiloh, after some troubled years has finally come home, with their five-year-old grandson, Isaac. But while away, Shiloh became deeply involved with the pastor of an extremist church in a nearby town, who is convinced that Isaac has the ability to heal the sick. Struggling with his own faith, and with his growing hostility towards the pastor, Lyle faces the very real threat of losing his daughter and beloved grandson once again.
  • For The Good Times

    For The Good Times

    David Keenan
    9780571340521
    Paperback
    368
    WINNER OF THE GORDON BURN PRIZE 2019From the author of This Is Memorial Device.‘A gasp-inducing thrill of a ride.’ i Independent‘An exhilarating novel, burning with rage, danger and dark humour.’ Literary Review‘Remarkable . . . demented brilliance.’ Scotland on SundayBelfast, 1970s: Sammy and his three friends live in an impoverished area of the city that has become the epicentre of a country seemingly intent on cannibalising itself. They love sharp clothes, a good drink, and the songs of Perry Como, whose commitment to clean living holds up a dissonant mirror to their own attempts to rise above their circumstances. They dream of a Free State, and their methods for achieving this are uncompromising. But For the Good Times is not just a novel about the IRA. It is about the heartbreak and devastation that commitment to ‘the cause’ can bring; of violence and betrayal, breakdown and rebirth.
  • Days Without End

    Days Without End

    Sebastian Barry
    9780571340224
    Paperback
    336
    *NEW NOVEL A THOUSAND MOONS NOW AVAILABLE FOR PREORDER*Winner of the 2016 Costa Book of the YearWinner of the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017Winner of the Independent Bookshop Week Book Award 2017Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017'Pitch perfect, the outstanding novel of the Year.' ObserverAfter signing up for the US army in the 1850s, aged barely seventeen, Thomas McNulty and his brother-in-arms, John Cole, fight in the Indian Wars and the Civil War. Having both fled terrible hardships, their days are now vivid and filled with wonder, despite the horrors they both see and are complicit in. Then when a young Indian girl crosses their path, the possibility of lasting happiness seems within reach, if only they can survive.